ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2013 Week 2 Hansard (13 February) . . Page.. 549..

Question put:

That Mr Coe's motion, as amended, be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 9: Mr Barr Ms Berry Dr Bourke Ms Burch Mr Corbell Ms Gallagher Mr Gentleman Ms Porter Mr Rattenbury

Noes 8: Mr Coe Mr Doszpot Mrs Dunne Mr Hanson Mrs Jones Mr Seselja Mr Smyth Mr Wall

Question so resolved in the affirmative.

Motion, as amended, agreed to.


Motion (by Mr Corbell) proposed:

That the Assembly do now adjourn.

Australia Day awards

MR COE (Ginninderra) (6.36): I rise today to place on the record my congratulations to those in my electorate of Ginninderra who received honours in the 2013 Australia Day honours list. Rear Admiral James Goldrick AM, CSC, RANR was made an Officer in the Military Division of the Order of Australia for distinguished service as Commander, Border Protection Command; Commander, Joint Education and Training; Commandant of the Australian Defence Force Academy; and for outstanding scholarship in the study of Australian naval history.

Dr David Evans was made a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to science and innovation through commercialising and developing new technologies. Mr Richard Longmore was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to herpetology, particularly the study of snakes and lizards.

Group Captain Arthur Skimin was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to the community, particularly veterans and their families. I know Arthur personally. I know the tremendous difference he makes to the life of veterans across Canberra but especially at Calvary hospital and I thank him for the wonderful service he does for our community.

Mr Paul Street was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to the community through Rotary International. Mr Dean Turner was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to the sport of volleyball as an administrator, referee and coach. Ms Sheryl Lewin was awarded the Public Service Medal for outstanding public service to the Australian public service, especially to the welfare and social inclusion aims of government.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT