ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2012 Week 7 Hansard (7 June) . . Page.. 2918..

The annual conference provides a central meeting point for veterinarians from across Australia, all fields of practice as well as the industries and government departments that support the profession.

The four-day program saw a range of topics of discussion and a number of intentional guest speakers. The conference was supported by one of the biggest veterinary trade displays in the country and each year it attracts the largest crowd of veterinary professionals in Australia.

I would like to acknowledge the conference program committee who were responsible for the success of this year's event: the convenor, Dr David Begg; Dr David Neck; Dr Sue Beetson; Dr Andrew Nathan; Dr Tanya Stephens; Dr Michael Reichel; Dr Maureen Revington; Dr Gaille Perry; Dr Steve Atkinson; the special interest group program coordinators; Kandy Musgrave, the national events manager; and Lauren Gadd, the events coordinator.

I would also like to acknowledge the board of the Australian Veterinary Association: President Dr Ben Gardiner, Treasurer Dr Sue Beetson, Director Dr Steve Atkinson, Director Dr Peter Chenoweth, Vice President Dr Peter Gibbs, Director Dr Alistair Henderson, Director Dr David Neck, Director Dr Julia Nicholls and Director Dr Barry Smyth.

I commend and thank the association for holding their event in Canberra. I am proud of our city and all that it has to offer visitors. I hope all delegates, exhibitors and guests made the most of their time in the nation's capital. I wish all the members all the best for next year's conference.

Question resolved in the affirmative.

The Assembly adjourned at 6.51 pm until Tuesday, 14 August 2012, at 10 am.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT