ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2012 Week 5 Hansard (2 May) . . Page.. 1894..

youth service Paul O'Connor, club PR and website Richard Griffiths and fundraising Desmond Woods, as well as other members of the club in alphabetical order: Zel Bodulovic, Bernard Borg-Caruana, Raymond Cook, Anthony Cooper, David Cossart, Hugh Dakin, Peter Dawson, Ian Drayton, Michael Eland, Michael Faragher, Andrew Fleming, Rick Forster, Markus Gibson-Huck, Neil Gray, Barbara Griffiths, John Hawley, Jeremy Hearder, Colin Holmes, Wendy Hudson, Peter Hughes, Gary Humphries, Klaus-Peter Klaiber, Michael Kumm, Diane Lebson, Gary Lee, Lachlan Lewis, Bruce Mackay, Brian Mann, David Marshall, Lindell McConnell, Gillian McFeat-Lin, Jorge Montalvo, Michael Moore, Helen Moore, Margaret Moore, George Nicola, Jack Olsson, John O'Neill, Anton Pemmer, Hannes Porias, Neil Renfree, Mario Rosi, Roderick Sutherland, Marc Trouyet, Brian Tuck, Gerard Uytterhaegen, Edward Watch, Richard Wilson and Mandy Yap.

Once again, congratulations to the Rotary Club of Canberra and Reconciliation on a tremendous evening. Thank you again to the Ambassador of the Republic of Austria and his wife. Congratulations to the performers, Christine Anu and the Ryebuck Bush Band, and to all those members of the Rotary Club of Canberra not only for that tremendous evening but for the generosity and the community spirit that they show in all of the activities that the club conducts in support of charities and community activities in Canberra, in other regions of Australia and internationally.

Catholic Schools Week

Canberra Region Trades Training Centre

MR DOSZPOT (Brindabella) (6.53): This morning I had the pleasure of attending the Catholic Schools Week function at St Michael's primary school, Kaleen. Colleagues from the Assembly who also attended included Zed Seselja, Alistair Coe and Vicki Dunne from the Liberal Party. From Labor we had the minister, Minister Bourke, and Mary Porter, and from the Greens, Meredith Hunter. This is an annual event that most of us have been attending for quite a few years. They generally are very inspirational events that we attend at St Michael's, and today's was no exception.

Congratulations to Mrs Judy Walsh and her fantastic staff, including assistant principal Mrs Val Chiufetelli, Mrs Zita Clifford and Ms Jo Pelle. Father Peter Doai, the parish priest, also supported the event, as he always does. I also congratulate all the teachers and the parents who came along to celebrate this morning's function. The Catholic Education Office had a strong representation, with the Director of Catholic Education, Moira Nadjecki, and her deputy, Mark Hogan, and Helen Casey.

St Michael's primary school, Kaleen is a Catholic systemic school, catering for 215 students and their families. Currently they have nine classes, from kindergarten to year 6. Judy Walsh told us that at St Michael's, the staff, the students and the parish strive to provide an integrated approach to education. The community integrates their faith with contemporary life, and gospel values are reflected in their policies, structures and relationships. The school acknowledges parents as prime educators in their child's education.

St Michael's school motto is "Live in Harmony."It symbolises their desire to live in harmony with God, self, others and the environment. Each member of St Michael's

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT