ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2011 Week 10 Hansard (20 September) . . Page.. 4010..

actions was to move away from the established process, the process that has served us very well. That is why I am moving this motion this morning, and I thank members for their support.

Question put:

That Mr Smyth's motion be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 9: Ms Bresnan Mr Coe Mr Doszpot Mrs Dunne Ms Hunter Ms Le Couteur Mr Rattenbury Mr Seselja Mr Smyth

Noes 6: Mr Barr Dr Bourke Ms Burch Mr Corbell Ms Gallagher Mr Hargreaves

Question so resolved in the affirmative.

Leave of absence

Motion (by Mr Hargreaves) agreed to:

That leave of absence be granted to Ms Porter for this sitting week due to her attendance at a CPA Seminar in Brisbane.


The following petition was lodged for presentation, by Mr Doszpot, from 621 residents:

Arawang primary school—petition No 126


This petition of certain residents of the Australian Capital Territory draws to the attention of the Assembly that:

The Arawang Primary School has announced plans to move their Early Intervention Unit from the Waramanga Pre-school campus to the Weston Pre-School campus from 2012 onwards, displacing half of Weston Pre-Schools' enrolments to the Waramanga campus. This decision was made by the Arawang Principal and Primary School board without any consultation with the Weston Creek community, part-way through the pre-school enrolment process for 2012.

For many families this change at such a late stage has caused serious disruption and upset for parents who have made enrolment decisions based on the belief their child would be able to attend the Weston Campus.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT