ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2011 Week 6 Hansard (23 June) . . Page.. 2388..

Question put:

That Mr Seselja's amendment be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 5: Mr Coe Mr Doszpot Mrs Dunne Mr Seselja Mr Smyth

Noes 10: Mr Barr Dr Bourke Ms Bresnan Ms Burch Mr Corbell Ms Gallagher Mr Hargreaves Ms Hunter Ms Le Couteur Mr Rattenbury

Question so resolved in the negative.

Amendment negatived.

Sitting suspended from 12.38 to 2 pm.

Emeritus Professor Jack Richardson AO

Statement by Speaker

MR SPEAKER: Before we commence question time, I would like to advise members of the death of Emeritus Professor Jack Richardson AO on 13 June 2011. Professor Richardson made a lasting contribution to the community as Dean of the Australian University's Faculty of Law during its establishment years. As the first commonwealth and ACT Ombudsman, Professor Richardson established a strong ethic of care and professionalism which continues to influence how these offices conduct their business today.

After his retirement as Ombudsman in 1985, Professor Richardson spent time in legal practice and was responsible for establishing the ombudsman's office in Samoa, where he held the position of ombudsman from 1990 to 1992. At the time of his death, Professor Richardson had just completed working on a book on Australian federal government and constitutional law.

As a mark of respect to the memory of Professor Richardson, I ask members to rise in their places.

Members rising in their places—

MR SPEAKER: I thank members.

Matters of public importance

Statement by Speaker

MR SPEAKER: Before we proceed with question time, there is just one other matter. I would like to make a brief statement regarding matters of public importance. This

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT