ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2010 Week 14 Hansard (8 December) . . Page.. 6035..

and involved a talk from Professor Julio Licinio, the director of the JCSMR. He spoke about some of the groundbreaking research that is being conducted by the school and also took the opportunity to talk about Professor Frank Fenner, who, of course as we all know, sadly recently passed away.

We had the opportunity to tour the state-of-the art laboratories and the new building at the John Curtin School of Medical Research. The tour was conducted by Dr Madeline Nicol. I have been on a tour with her before, and she does it in a most informative and most engaging manner. There were a number of us that attended, and I would like to note that the Deputy Leader of the Opposition, Brendan Smyth, was in attendance.

I will just quote from the school's website:

The John Curtin School—Australia's national medical research institute—is part of the Australian National University. It was created in 1948 as a result of the vision of Australian Nobel Laureate Howard Florey and Prime Minister John Curtin.

Within 50 years its scientists have made major discoveries and contributions to world health and won two of Australia's Nobel prizes.

They are Sir John Eccles in 1963 and Peter Doherty and Rolf Zinkernagel, who shared the 1996 prize. Many other international awards have been won by ANU scientists from the John Curtin school. Premier amongst the, obviously, is Professor Frank Fenner, who in his time won a number of very significant awards.

There are many people at the school who are working hard to make discoveries that will be for the benefit of mankind and make great advances in health. I would just like to note these people. These are the doctors and the scientists who go unmentioned, and I will note a number of them: Professor Tim Hirst, Dr Mario Lobigs, Professor Ian Ramshaw, Dr Charani Ranasinghe, Professor Arno Mullbacher, Professor David Tremethick, Dr Mark Hulett, Dr Gavin Huttley, Professor Jill Gready, Dr Danny Rangasamy, Professor Frances Shannon, Dr Rohan Williams, Professor Simon Easteal, Professor Chris Goodnow, Dr Dianne Webb, Professor Chris Parish, Dr Charmaine Simeonovic, Dr Craig Freeman, Dr Carola Vinuesa, Professor Chris Goodnow, Dr Ed Bertram, Dr Anselm Enders, Associate Professor Guna Karupiah, Dr Geeta Chaudhri, Dr Matthew Cook, Professor Greg Stuart, Associate Professor John Bekkers, Professor Greg Stuart, Dr Zan-Min Song. Dr Clarke Raymond, Dr Maarten Kole, Professor Bruce Walmsley, Associate Professor Christian Stricker, Professor Trevor Lamb, Professor Caryl Hill, Dr Marco Casarotto, Professor Ian Young, Dr Louise Tierney, Professor Phil Board, Dr Anneke Blackburn, Professor Angela Dulhunty, Dr Nicole Beard, Professor Klaus, Matthaei, Professor Ma-Li Wong and obviously Professor Julio Licinio, the director of the school.

I congratulate all of those very hard working scientists and doctors on the work they do as well as all of those others at the school equally who are conducting such important medical research on our behalf.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT