ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2010 Week 14 Hansard (7 December) . . Page.. 5849..

We know that there are inconsistencies from the minister's statements over the last four years. We know about how to run an organisation. We know that sometimes what you build and say is 300, due to constraints, might change. But we want to debate what the minister said. These are the minister's own words:

The projected planning for the prison in terms of population gives us real capacity—

—not only is it "capacity", but it is "real capacity"—

to accommodate growth into the future and certainly gives us a facility in terms of its current bedding configuration—

—current bedding configuration—

as currently being constructed—not its potential, but its current bedding configuration—to meet our needs for the next 25 years or so.

It has not even been 25 months since the Alexander Maconochie Centre accepted its first prisoner. (Time expired.)

Question put:

That standing and temporary orders be suspended.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 6: Mr Coe Mr Doszpot Mrs Dunne Mr Hanson Mr Seselja Mr Smyth

Noes 11: Mr Barr Ms Bresnan Ms Burch Mr Corbell Ms Gallagher Mr Hargreaves Ms Hunter Ms Le Couteur Ms Porter Mr Rattenbury Mr Stanhope

Question so resolved in the negative.


Mr Speaker presented the following paper:

Standing order 191—Amendments to the Road Transport (Alcohol and Drugs) Legislation Amendment Bill 2010, dated 24 November 2010.

Executive contracts

Papers and statement by minister

MR STANHOPE (Ginninderra—Chief Minister, Minister for Transport, Minister for Territory and Municipal Services, Minister for Business and Economic Development,

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT