ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2010 Week 2 Hansard (23 February) . . Page.. 431..

MR SPEAKER (continuing):

Accordingly, I am prepared to allow precedence to a motion to refer the matter to a select committee should Mrs Dunne choose to move such a motion.

For the information of members, I present the following papers:

Privilege—Alleged breach—

Letter to the Speaker from Mrs Dunne, dated 19 February 2010.

Advice to the Speaker from the Deputy Speaker, dated 23 February 2010.

Letter to the Speaker from Mr Mark Sullivan, Managing Director, ACTEW Corporation, dated 23 February 2010.

Privileges 2010—Select Committee


MRS DUNNE (Ginninderra) (10.06): I move

That this Assembly—

(1) pursuant to standing order 276, establish a Select Committee on Privileges 2010 to examine whether a breach of privilege or contempt of the Assembly has been committed by:

(a) Mr Mark Sullivan, Managing Director of ACTEW Corporation; or

(b) Ms Katy Gallagher MLA, Treasurer and shareholder of ACTEW Corporation;

in relation to evidence given on matters relating to the major water security projects comprising the enlargement of Cotter Dam, the Murrumbidgee-to-Googong bulk water transfer pipeline and the Tantangara Reservoir bulk water licensing arrangements:

(i) at the Select Committee on Estimates 2009-2010 on 18 May 2009; or

(ii) at the 2 December 2009 or the 18 February 2010 hearings of the Assembly's Standing Committee on Public Accounts in its inquiry into Annual Reports 2008-2009; or

(iii) in any public statements; or

(iv) in any additional material facts;

(2) the Committee shall report back to the Assembly by Tuesday, 22 June 2010; and

(3) the Committee shall comprise:

(a) one member nominated by the Government;

(b) one member nominated by the Crossbench; and

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT