ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2007 Week 11 Hansard (14 November) . . Page.. 3315..

Wednesday, 14 November 2007

The Assembly met at 10.30 am.

(Quorum formed.)

MR SPEAKER (Mr Berry) took the chair and asked members to stand in silence and pray or reflect on their responsibilities to the people of the Australian Capital Territory.


The following petition was lodged for presentation, by Mr Pratt, from 1,132 residents:



This petition of certain residents of the Australian Capital Territory draws to the attention of the assembly that:

1. as a result of residential development in southern Tuggeranong there has been a significant increase of traffic on arterial roads connecting the region to the rest of the ACT;

2. the increase in traffic on arterial roads, particularly on Tharwa Drive, has resulted in a significant increase in the travelling time for southern Tuggeranong residents; and

3. the substandard nature of arterial roads in southern Tuggeranong coupled with the increase in traffic has resulted in the region's roads becoming less safe.

Your petitioners therefore request the Assembly to alleviate the traffic problems being experienced in southern Tuggeranong by duplicating Tharwa Drive from Pockett Avenue in Banks to Johnson Drive in Theodore, as well as duplicating the remaining section of Drakeford Drive.

The Clerk having announced that the terms of the petition would be recorded in Hansard and a copy referred to the appropriate minister, the petition was received.

Government Transparency Legislation Amendment Bill 2007

Mrs Dunne, pursuant to notice, presented the bill.

Title read by Clerk.

MRS DUNNE (Ginninderra) (10.33): I move:

That this bill be agreed to in principle.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT