ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2002 Week 10 Hansard (28 August) . . Page.. 2998..

MR SMYTH (continuing):

Tyler Ayres, James Batchelor, Jack Wilson, Jack Ziesing, Jake River Fraser, Harry Morrissey, Kai Wasikowski, York Stuart and Samuel Maxted.

The extraordinary thing was the age group. It was from very young boys-some of them looked to be about seven or eight years old-all the way to clearly young men in their early teens. But what they did as a team was prove that masculine dance and male dance troupes have a great future in Australia.

It is a credit to all those who put it on. They included Ruth Osborne, who was the artistic director, and the other choreographers were Paul O'Keeffe, Gerard Veltre, Rowan Marchingo and Darren Green. The other group that really takes the credit for this is the Australian Choreographic Centre and Mark Gordon. The Choreographic Centre is to be congratulated for the hard work it has done. It gave young Canberrans the opportunity, in the nation's capital, to put on display some incredible talent and some incredible choreography, and bring to the people who were in the audience that night-and I don't think anybody left and everybody got into the mood-a very visual and entertaining night.

So, to all of the boys in the dance troupe and to all of the participants in the first half of the show, who were both male and female, well done. And to Mark and all those at the Australian Choreographic Centre, the best of luck, and I hope that what you have proved you can do this year just continues year after year to show that this city really does produce talent that is outstanding.

Question resolved in the affirmative.

The Assembly adjourned at 5.42 pm.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT