ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2002 Week 10 Hansard (28 August) . . Page.. 2997..

MR HARGREAVES (continuing):

In May 2002, the steering committee resolved to form a public company-Tuggeranong Valley Financial Services Ltd-to issue a prospectus and raise public funds to establish the branches. The prospectus would cover fit-out costs, staff salaries, working capital and the like. The company board of directors included, as a kick-off, Michael Lindfield, again in the chair, Robert Yeomans AM as the deputy chair, and Michael Crozier OAM, George Kelly OAM, Bill Allan, Maria Porecca and Wayne Simpson as members.

What is really incredible is that the community went out there and said to the rest of the community, "Support us and we'll get some banks back in our community." They raised $900,000 in pledges to enable a community bank to open its branches in Wanniassa and Calwell. And then, of course, came the hard work of trying to part people from their money, after they had given their pledges. I was pleased to see a press release saying that the $900,000 mark was reached last Friday, because a number of large investors actually contributed to the business.

It is hoped that the community bank branches will open just before Christmas-hopefully before Christmas-and that their staff recruitment process is started in the next week or so. They are also talking about building fit-out programs and the like.

I think the community in the Brindabella electorate, Tuggeranong specifically, and the people of the ACT generally ought to extend their congratulations to members of their own community for taking the matter in their own hands and doing something about it. And, of course, if these banks are successful, I am absolutely sure the idea will catch on with other electorates in town. So I wish to extend my congratulations, and hopefully those of other Assembly members, to those people involved.

Dance extravaganza

MR SMYTH (5.38): Mr Speaker, I rise to speak in the adjournment debate tonight to give credit to an incredible group of young Canberrans who from 14 to 17 August put on at the Playhouse "Quantum leap-a youth dance extravaganza". There were two parts to the program. The first part was the quantum Leap youth choreographic ensemble, and it was absolutely spectacular. But the second part of the program was devoted to an all-boys dance troupe. And, in terms of the earlier debate we had and getting rid of stereotypes, it was great to see what was called Hardware 3. I will read from the program:

Hardware 3 is this year's extension of our very successful young men's program-Hardware. It is a celebration of the physicality of male dancers in a masculine environment.

And they did it incredibly well. The seven parts of the performance were called Team Spirit, New Heights, Saving Face, No Barriers, Group Dynamic, Age of Man and Celebrate. It was such an achievement that I am going to read out the names of all the artists. The young men that performed were Paul O'Keeffe, who was the guest artist, Ross Newton, Daniel Norton, Ryan O'Leary, Paddy Quiggin, James Shannon, Matthew Teran, Dean Cross, Grant Freeman, Ian Fallon, Stephen Gow, Josh Mulrine, Daniel McKinley, Nathan Anderson, Joey Colebatch, Tom Dickens, Thomas Foxwell, Joshua Mansfield, John Milton, Christopher Palavestra, Kane Stuart, Reuben Ingall, Ned Jopson, Mitchell Goodfellow, Jarrad Irvine, Sascha Kerbert, Julian Ingall,

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT