ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2001 Week 5 Hansard (3 May) . . Page.. 1547..

Hospitals in the ACT-legal actions against

(Question No 353)

Mr Stanhope asked the Minister for Health, Housing and Community Service, upon notice, on 29 March 2001:

In relation to The Canberra Hospital, the Calvary Hospital and ACT Community Care:

(1) For each of the last five years what is the number of legal actions instituted against:

(a) The Canberra Hospital

(b) the Calvary Hospital

(c) ACT Community Care

(d) individual divisions of The Canberra Hospital

(2) How many of the actions have been:

(a) settled;

(b) remain to be settled.

(3) What are the terms of each settlement.

Mr Moore: The answer to the member's question is:

No of

Legal No No Settled Actions Unsettled

TCH 51 39 12

Calvary 29 7 22

ACTCC 4 3 1


The data includes unlitigated claims. It does not include matters where the relevant incident occurred prior to 1996 because The Canberra Hospital became part of a Statutory Authority in 1996. The Territory is liable for incidents which occurred prior to 1996, not The Canberra Hospital.

Please note that this information has been collected manually in the ACT Government Solicitor's Office, and that Office advises it is not guaranteed to be 100% accurate.

A breakdown by Division of The Canberra Hospital is not available.

The total amount paid out for the 12 cases that have been settled is $311,917. Individual terms of each settlement are not available. A number of the claims have been settled on the basis that the terms of settlement will remain confidential.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT